top of page


Aktualisiert: 10. Apr. 2022

| PYL | >

Press Your Luck (TV gameshow)

Press Your Luck

Logo for the 2019 version of Press Your Luck

GenreGame showCreated by

  • Bill Carruthers

  • Jan McCormack

Directed by

  • Bill Carruthers

  • Rick Stern

  • R. Brian DiPirro

Presented by

  • Peter Tomarken

  • Elizabeth Banks

Neil RossNarrated by

  • Rod Roddy

  • Neil Ross

Theme music composer

  • Michel Camilo for Score Productions

  • Tim Mosher & Stoker

Country of originUnited StatesOriginal languageEnglishNo. of seasons

  • 3 (CBS)

  • 3 (ABC)

No. of episodes

  • 761 (CBS)

  • 29 (ABC)

ProductionExecutive producers

  • Bill Carruthers

  • Jennifer Mullin

  • Elizabeth Banks

  • Max Handelman

  • John Quinn


  • Bill Mitchell

  • John Quinn

Running time

  • 22 minutes (CBS)

  • 42 minutes (ABC)

Production companies

  • The Carruthers Company

  • Brownstone Productions

  • Fremantle


CBS Television DistributionReleaseOriginal network

  • CBS (1983–86)

  • ABC (2019–)

Picture format

  • NTSC (CBS) (1983–86)

  • HDTV 720p (ABC) (2019–)

Audio format

  • Mono (CBS)

  • 5.1 Surround (ABC)

Original releaseCBS:

September 19, 1983 – September 26, 1986


June 12, 2019 –

presentChronologyPreceded bySecond Chance (1977)Followed byWhammy! The All-New Press Your Luck (2002–03)

Press Your Luck is an American television game show created by Bill Carruthers and Jan McCormack. It premiered on CBS daytime on September 19, 1983, and ended on September 26, 1986. The format is a retooling of an earlier Carruthers production, Second Chance, hosted by Jim Peck and which aired on ABC in 1977.

The game featured contestants collecting spins by answering trivia questions, and then later using the spins on an 18-space gameboard to win cash and prizes. The contestant who amassed the highest total in cash and prizes kept their winnings for the day and became the returning champion. Peter Tomarken was the show's original host, and Rod Roddywas the primary announcer. John Harlan and Charlie O'Donnell filled in as substitute announcers for Roddy on different occasions.

The show is known for the "Whammy", a red cartoon creature with a high-pitched, raspy voice. Landing on any Whammy space caused the contestant to go bankrupt and start over from $0, accompanied by an animation that showed the Whammy taking the loot but frequently being blown up or otherwise humiliated in the process. The Whammies were created and animated by Savage Steve Holland and Bill Kopp, and they were voiced by Bill Carruthers.

A new weekly prime time version hosted by Elizabeth Banks and announced by Neil Ross (who also voices the "Whammy") began airing on ABC on June 12, 2019, and continued as a limited summer series. The series was renewed for a second season which premiered on May 31, 2020. The series was renewed for a third season, which premiered on May 26, 2021.[7] The series was renewed for a fourth season, set to premiere on July 7, 2022.




10 Ansichten0 Kommentare

Aktuelle Beiträge

Alle ansehen


bottom of page